# Grace Evangelical Lutheran Church CONGREGATIONAL ANNUAL MEETING AGENDA

Sunday, August 21, 2022, 11:00am, in-person & via ZOOM

#### 1. Call to Order

## 2. Determine Quorum

- Grace Constitution:
  - C10.04. Twenty-five percent (68) of the voting members shall constitute a quorum.
  - C.8.02.C. *Voting* members are confirmed members. Such confirmed members, during the current or preceding calendar year, shall have communed in this congregation and shall have made a contribution of record to this congregation. Members of this congregation who have satisfied these basic standards shall have the privilege of voice and vote at every regular and special meeting of this congregation as well as the other rights and privileges ascribed to voting members by the provisions of this constitution and its bylaws. They shall not have voted as a seasonal member of another congregation of this church in the previous two calendar months.

# 3. Opening Prayer

# 4. Review ZOOM meeting specific instructions

- General Information:
  - Every online voting member will need to log into the Zoom meeting on their own device or separate phone line in order to be eligible to vote in the meeting.
  - All online meeting participants will need to be muted in order to allow everyone to be able to hear the Council President.
  - Please type all motions and seconds into the Chat Box.
  - If you have a question, please click to "raise your hand" or type your question into the Chat Box. The meeting host will unmute participants. If you are on the phone and would like to be recognized for a question, please dial \*9 to let the meeting host know that you would like to speak.

## O How to vote?

- On the computer, table or phone, the meeting host will launch the vote which will appear as a pop-up multiple-choice question on your screen. Please tap or click your desired vote within the given time limit.
- Over the phone, participants will dail \*9 when the meeting host reads out the voting choices. Please note that phone votes are visible to everyone who is participating in the meeting.

# 5. Review and Approve Meeting Ground Rules

- When speaking:
  - Please begin with your name and then indicate whether you are speaking in favor of the motion at hand.
  - You can only speak on a motion one time, until everyone else has had an opportunity to speak.
  - Please be succinct and remain on topic.
- When listening:
  - Please remain quiet throughout the meeting unless you are recognized by the host to ask a question.
  - Please be respectful of differing opinions.
- 6. Review and Approve Agenda
- 7. Review and Accept 2021-2022 Annual Report
- 8. Receive Report from the Nominating Committee and Elections (see next page)
- 9. Review and Approve Proposed 2022-2023 Budget (see other handout)
- 10. Ratified Provisional Constitution
- 11. Recognize and Thank Outgoing, Ongoing and Newly Elected/Appointed Leaders
- 12. Adjournment with Closing Prayer

#### REPORT FROM 2021-2022 NOMINATING COMMITTEE

#### **Trexler Foundation Board**

# Nominated by Columbarium Team, Appointed by Council, Presented to Congregation

Pastor and 4 at-large members serving 3-year terms:

- Gail Hauser (Term expires 2023)
- Tommy Moretz (Term expires 2024)
- Gail Lund, second term (Term expires 2025) Presented to the Congregation
- Andy Burgess (Term expires 2025) *Presented to the Congregation*

#### **Troutman Foundation Board Members**

## Nominated by Finance Team, Approved by Council, Needs Ratification by Congregation

Pastor, Treasurer and 3 at-large members serving 3-year terms:

- Gail Lund (Term expires 2023)
- Jeff Voss, filling unexpired term (Term expires 2024) -- Needs Ratification by Congregation
- Jeff Ramsdell (Term expires 2025) Needs Ratification by Congregation

#### **Jeffcoat-Proctor Foundation**

# Nominated by Campus Ministry Team, Elected by Council, Needs Confirmation by Congregation

Pastor and 4 at-large members serving 3-year terms:

- Jan Burgess (Term expires 2023)
- Austin Eggers (Term expires 2024)
- Shelley Wainscott-Wallin (Term expires 2024)
- Janice Koppenhaver (Term Expires 2025) Needs Confirmation by Congregation

## Council Members - Elect 1 to a 1-year Term AND Elect 4 to a 3-year Term

#### Nominees:

- Wayne *Powell (Term expires 2023)* continue filling unexpired term
- Jordan Burkhart (Term expires 2025)
- Jennifer Davis (Term expires 2025)
- Alan Hauser (*Term expires 2025*) second term
- Suzanne Wise (Term expires 2025)

## 2022-2023 Nominating Committee - Elect 6

Includes 2 outgoing Council Members, if possible, and 4 at-large Members, each serving a 1-year term

- Charlie Wallin
- Beth Reavis
- Jennifer Dalton
- Gail Lund
- Kurt Fengler
- Charlene Sox

## **2023 Synod Assembly Voting Members**

**C5.04.01.** By a majority vote of those voting members present and voting at a legally called meeting of this congregation, the congregation may delegate the responsibility to the Congregational Council to elect, from among its voting members, persons to serve as voting members of the Synod Assembly as well as persons to represent it at meetings of any conference, cluster, coalition, or other area subdivision of which it is a member.